Rear Suspension And Gas

Hi guys,

This is my first post on this forum. I haven't attended a CSS course yet, but I'm planning for it. While I'm waiting/preparing for the course, I'm studying Twist of the Wrist II, and I just read something that sounds quite controversial to me. I'm hoping that someone can explain the physics behind how the rear end reacts to acceleration..

On page 14 in TOTW2, it says "Most riders don't understand this simple fact: The harder they twist the gas, the less compliant the rear suspension is and the more the rear end tries to RISE. Most riders believe that the back of the bike goes down when they accelerate. It doesn't"

Well at this point, I'm certainly one of "most riders", because I can't get myself to think that the rear end will actually rise when 60-100% of the weight is loaded onto the rear tire..! With cars (rear wheel drive), it's easy to see that the rear suspension is compressed as the car launches from standstill, or when the driver releases the clutch after a gear (up) change. How come this doesn't apply to bikes??

Edited by Leftlaner

• Replies 51
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Hi Leftlaner,

At first glance, it is very counter-intuitive until you actually look at a chain driven motorcycle and visualize what happens to the rear suspsension when you turn the throttle.

I don't know if your bike is shaft or chain driven; but, if you kneel down low enough to see the chain and the swingarm from the side, you will notice the swingarm is angled downward from the pivot shaft and the upper (pulling) side of the chain is attempting to pull or rotate the swingarm downward when accelerating. Hence, the suspension tries to extend and becomes effectively stiffer under acceleration.

Another test you can perform with your own bike is to put the front wheel against a wall and give it some gas while letting the clutch out a bit. You may find the result interesting.

Check it out. Let us know what you find.

racer