Absolute Newbie W/ Newbie Questions

Hello all,

I've been having a great time lurking and searching here the past couple of days. So much to learn. I've ordered Twist II and a couple of other books from amazon and look forward to reading.

I am from the Bay Area Northern California and am an absolute newbie to motorcycle riding in my early 30's. In fact, I have never sat on a motorcycle before. Whenever I start into something new, particularly the kinds of things that can kill you if you point 'em in the wrong direction and twitch, I try to account for proper, guided training on the front end as a must! So, it's probably not surprising that the internet landed me here, and being as I have no experience, I thought it best to find and heed some good advise.

Here's what I'm thinking I need to do based on solid, infallible internet advise :)

1. Go and take an MSF class with my wife (we like to do these sorts of learning expeditions together) and obtain M1 license.

2. Then, I need to get my hands on some safety gear and some kind of 2 wheeled motor thingy that goes. . . preferably one that I don't have to wrench on too much and one that won't launch me into oblivion and beyond.

3. Ride the thing until I'm comfortable going at freeway speeds and have somewhat of a subconscious intuition of how the controls work. . . hopefully without getting hurt in the process.

4. Get out to 2 days of CSS school. We've found that we learn best by taking some time particularly when starting out to get a little bit of immersion to allow some baseline foundational elements to click. . . hopefully some initial barriers are overcome and a solid sense of how much we really don't know and "what the questions are" starts to develop. So, we'd love to do 4 days like we did for firearms, but the budget doesn't look like it'll support that kind of investment, so I'm shooting for 2 days.