Level 4 – How Do You Decide What To Work On Next?

For those of you who have done multiple Level 4s, how do you decide what to work on in your next Level 4? I realize this may sound like a simple question, and in a way it is. You could say "I work on what needs the most improvement". If that's the case, how are you making that determination?

I know that there is a litany of things that I need to work on (and I'm ok with that I know I'm not a professional) but how best do I prioritize them? In my last two level 4's I worked almost exclusively on vision as it was apparent I had gotten faster (compared only to pre-CSS me :P ) and my vison needed to "catch up". After looking at the pictures from last August at VIR I believe that a revisit to the level 3 drills might be in order but I'm not sure how best to prioritize what I'm working on.

How do you all decide?

From our side, this is of course adjusted every time the rider goes out.

Interesting that visual skills get a lot of attention. Level 2 is possibly the most rewarding and most challenging of the levels to do well. We know this applies to the top of the skill level, interantional racers spend time on these skills.

At the school, the coach has a look at what the rider is doing, and at Level 4, there are 3 options:

1. It's going well, but more gains to be had, lets continue.

2. Going very well, we can move to another area of improvement.

3. Let's look at the area from a different view, we can get a better result.

Coaching is a fascinating subject!

CF

I think you should work on your smiley face usage.... :rolleyes:

Seriously, stay with the basics until you have a clear understanding of what you need. If you can't identify it then let a coach guide you.

I think you should work on your smiley face usage.... :rolleyes:

Seriously, stay with the basics until you have a clear understanding of what you need. If you can't identify it then let a coach guide you.