What Helmet To Choose?

For bikers, the quality of helmet is very important so choosing the right brand is I think important. I am a beginner for bikes so I really want my first helmet to the right helmet.

Can somebody help me in choosing helmets? What brand? And how should I know what helmet would fir perfectly with me?

Suggestions and experiences are highly appreciated.

Can somebody help me in choosing helmets? What brand? And how should I know what helmet would fir perfectly with me?

Evans;

First off - Welcome to the Forum. It's good that as soon as you joined you jumped in so let's see if we can get you some answers.

This is just my story so take it with a grain of salt. I started off with an HJC - liked it, no complaints but it didn't seem to have the features (at the time) that some of the European helmets did.

So I bought an AGV - loved it's looks but it was crushing my skull. It was my first realization that the shape of your head had to match the way the helmets are made; my brother-in-law swears by it to this day after I gave it to him.

Then I found pure joy in Suomy. I found pure comfort and protection in Suomy crashing in them a number of times, hitting my head/helmet on the track in the process with nary a headache or scratch. Since I subscribe to the one hard hit and you replace it rule, I have owned a number of them since. I'm a big Suomy fan...but others will weigh in I'm sure.

As for fit, do what I didn't do and go to a big shop that carries multiple lines and try different ones on. The fit should be snug but not too tight. If you can move your head any amount and the helmet doesn't follow directly, its too big. If there is (are) a pressure point(s) that "hurts" even though it otherwise fits - it will NEVER work for you (see AGV reference). Good luck with your selection.

Rainman

Welcome to the forum Evans!