Having Issues Hanging Off My Right(Bad) Side

apextc

Hello everyone,

I'm a newbie (7 track days so far) and love the sport! As part of my learning curve and doing my search in our 77 pages in the cornering section I'm trying to find techniques and suggestions on how to hang off your right(bad) side? A good analogy I got was that initially this is natural as most people even driving cars may not be as smooth turning right vs. left.

I am confident, relaxed, predictable and smooth when it comes to taking left hand turns but anything to my right...... I grip the bars like I'm holding on for dear life, have a hard time sliding back to the middle w/o upsetting the bike and just don't know how to initiate the turn and stay steady when cornering right.

Coaches and friends who have followed me and viewing pictures I guess I am not hanging off enough and maybe not digging my thigh into the tank enough?

Anything I can practice off the track? Any suggestions on where to apply pressure when cornering right? A great piece of advice that helped me thus far is to move my hips around the tank while digging my thigh into the tank.

Thank you everyone in advance for responding.

How does your lock on between your left boot and the bike feel? My heelguard on my left peg is shorter than my right and that is affecting my lock on and confidence with it.

How does your lock on between your left boot and the bike feel? My heelguard on my left peg is shorter than my right and that is affecting my lock on and confidence with it.

I never paid attention to but I can say for sure that when I make left hand turns I use the arc of my right foot to apply pressure to raise my knee slightly to lock on the tank..... which to me is comfortable. I'm 5'11.5 tall.

I'm curios if adjusting or somehow making the left foot peg or heel guard higher or lower will help me?