Corning And Hip Pain

SJTrance

I have some tightness that is inherent in my Lt hip. I'm a physical therapist and the problem is in my joint anatomy. I've been stretching and doing physical therapy things for myself and it's helping. Still, it hinders my cornering techniques. But now, I'm realizing that I've been cornering incorrectly all these years too.

I'm a chronic inside peg weighter. I think that the reason that I tend to do this is that most of my bikes have very low or lower than stock pegs to manage my hip tightness. As we all know, it's hard to push on the outside peg to get your body over if your pegs are low. Rather, I've been sliding over to the turning side of the bike so that I can get my body over. Also, I think that I've learned to slide my body into a turn so that my chest is facing slightly away from a turn and my weight mostly on my inside peg. I know, all sorts of weird. Hopefully, I'm making some sense here. I have to relearn everything I've been doing for the past 4 years of riding aggressively and on the track.

Another problem that the hip mobility is giving me is to grab my tank on hard braking because my hips don't want to come in tight enough to grip the tank. The problem is exaggerated as I have been riding Ducati's for a long time and they have narrow tanks.

Does anyone else have issues with hip mobility and if so, how are you guys moving around this problem? Here are a few pictures of me in a turn:

EBA44B47-5131-4B3D-81CD-DA0173C0D56F_zps

FFD61DDF-5EC7-460F-8A27-3367E0F0798F_zps

738CE58C-B234-4552-B892-7DB80CA98CA0_zps

This pic was from my very first track day.

3BF4445A-DFAB-4EF2-8224-042F502CAAA2-107