Knee Down Question (Again.....)

Hawk862

Hi all,

Here’s one that I’ve been struggling with. Well I say struggling, however pondering is probably more the correct term.

I’ve been doing trackdays for a few years now and I currently ride at the top of inters or bottom of fast group pace on my ZX6R. In that time, I have NEVER gotten my knee down. I do seem to pass a lot of riders who do though. Most days I always seem to go around someone on a corner who has their bum way off and dragging their knee.

Part of me thinks that I should be getting my knee down by now, but in order to do so I need to hang so much of my bum off the seat that I just don’t feel locked on anymore and end up going slower, which to me seems to defeat the purpose of the exercise.

I believe that knee down is a gauge only really and not a requirement, but does anyone else have this predicament?

I'm in the same situation myself. This past Level 4 was the first time I ever had knee contact with the track. It does not bother me one bit that I'm not scraping my knee on the track through every corner.

Think of it this way. Using the correct technique decreases the lean angle required and increases the speed you can use through the corner.

I think that a lot of riders look at knee pucks as a measure of ability which is misleading at best. Many of them use an exaggerated technique that ultimately slows them down in the corners just to get their knee down. Don't worry about it. Use the technique that works for you the best.