Psychological Effect Of A Highside?

Hey Guys,

So i highsided a month ago....broke my left femur and ankle.Recovering now.The bike was smashed....there was no front end at all.My helmet, jacket and gloves saved my upper body any injury though.The jeans i wore didnt help much in the crash....shredded instantly.

Anyway....im sure you guys have had a bad crash at some point. How did it feel getting on the bike later? Was there fear....or a change in the experience? I'm no chicken but i don't want this accident to kill the thrill of riding.

First I'm REALLY sorry to hear about the accident. I hope you are well on the road to recovery. You are in my thoughts my friend!

I can't comment about a bad crash as I have yet to have one (give me some time I'm sure I will eventually). Perhaps some others might be able to share their experience.

One thing I can comment about is fear. I have had lots of it in my experience on two wheels and it's helped me out a lot. In areas that require "blind trust" I have to understand everything 100% and tend to over analyze every tiny detail to the point I annoy the heck out of people. :) It's certainly a different approach to what most have and I'm happy to be the oddball. When I fear or dread something I try to figure out why and fully understand everything I can. It becomes not so scary pretty quickly. Some of my favorite turns on the tracks I ride are turns that scared the ###### out of me at one time or another. That fear inspired me to ask one simple question "Why". Following that Why as far as you can and conquering your fear is a very rewarding experience.

I'm sure you will have a bit of fear when you get back on the bike. It's perfectly normal and It's not a character flaw. It's part of being human. Just use that fear to find out the why and you can use it to your advantage.

One place to start is understanding the why behind what caused your crash. Despite the crash there's useful information in there if you look for it.