Hi, Old Newbie Here!

Hi Guys

Paul from Melbourne Australia here.

Just signed up after perusing the CSS Australia site, and ordering the Twist II DVD!

I've had my new bike (2012 CBR250R) since February so I have 3 months on learners and 2-3 months on my license. I have about 1600 kms on the bike now and am gaining confidence in traffic everytime I go out but still feel less confident on higher speed cornering.

I did reply to an earlier post under 'school' regarding the Level one course but it didn't work for some reason.

Anyway, basically I was asking if it was too early to tackle Level One at Philip Island and should I do it on my bike as the hire bikes (GSXR600s) seem a bit daunting to me at this stage.

After reading a lot more of the forums last night I'm leaning towards doing it and taking my bike. What do you think?

Welcome!

I think it makes sense to take the class on your own bike that you are starting to get familiar with. At your level, just familiarize yourself with a much heavier and far more powerful machine will be daunting, likely reducing the outcome of the class. You will learn far more on your own bike where too much power will not be a problem, leaving you to fully concentrate on braking and especially turning plus lines.

Welcome!

I think it makes sense to take the class on your own bike that you are starting to get familiar with. At your level, just familiarize yourself with a much heavier and far more powerful machine will be daunting, likely reducing the outcome of the class. You will learn far more on your own bike where too much power will not be a problem, leaving you to fully concentrate on braking and especially turning plus lines.

Thanks Eirik, good advice. I can't trailer my bike down there (about 1.5 hrs drive) so I can see the ride home will be a hard slog, but I will put a few mates that have trailers on notice just in case!

Welcome to the forum Paul!