Endurance And Stamina

Hi Doc,

Many different opinions on this. Recently I tried the Dr. Al Sears techniques, of short exercise, followed by rest. He has a whole method for using the heart to monitor one's condition.

I gathered from what he wrote, long, light cardio is not good (he cites some marthoners dropping dead at 27) for many reasons. This is way more to this (http://www.alsearsmd.com/catalog/).

But I'd like to get your take on increasing endurance and stamina.

Best,

CF

Running short distances with loads, like a backpack or weight wrapped around your legs.That will make normal business a cakewalk.It is how the shaolin monks train.

They consider a good runner someone who can run 50 km with 50 kgs in lead shot strapped to each leg, continuously, and not " Draw excessive breath " or breathe heavily at the end of it.LOL....

I've been doing "PACE" from Al Sears for about 1 + 1/2 years now, you get in real good shape, put on 3 kilos though which is probably muscle (at least I hope that's what it is ;-) ). It's definitely better than cardio (at least for me), I find it a lot easier now to move around on the bike and giving steering impulses.

A principle I learned long ago, and reinforced by the recent explosion in CrossFit'ting, is you have to train with high intensity. "Light" or "recovery" training is mostly useless to your body, unless maybe you have specific problem which can't be overcome by changing exercises (i.e. recovery from a medical problem). The key is to train unpredictably and with generous variety. 5k run today, calisthenics session tomorrow, then a heavy weights session, then 400's, and so on (all done "hard", no easy days). The idea is not new but is effective.

I haven't read Dr. Sears but have added it to the to-do list.

• 3 weeks later...