Proper Terminology

Hi everyone :)

A bit of background, I come from the car racing world and I started riding motorcycles for the 1st time 9 months ago.

I learned how to ride from step 1 (didn't even know which lever the clutch was) and within my 1st week of riding, I rode on the highway on the shoulder at 40mph to my first track day. Since then I've done over 60 track days and enjoy bikes much more than cars because the "limit" is alot more dangerous therefore requires alot more skill and finesse.

That being said I find alot of flaws in the motorcycle world. I hope I do not offend anyone.

I find the motorcycle racing/track world to be a much more "shoot from the hip" type of sport.

1) Data acquisition. Rarely I see anyone using it. How can you tell if the line you are taking is indeed fastest? What feels fast may not necessarily BE fast.

2) Ever heard of a torque wrench? I had the tire guy at the track change my tires and 45 minutes later I asked him what he torqued my axles to. He said "I don't have a torque wrench are you kidding me? This is a sport of FAITH son!" I've ran into this multiple times.

3) Terminology. This is perhaps the most frustrating thing for me. Motorcycle racers and even suspension tuners don't have a unified terminology and when they do agree on something it's a very unscientific word like "backing it it". Sorry - but that's retarded.

Here are some terms and definitions and maybe some of you can shed some light on if these terms are recognized here or what the motorcycle equivalent is.

Oversteer = the rear end looses traction, the front is still gripping. (overtseer is broken down to the following 2 categories)

1) power oversteer [you guys say: sliding the rear end] = rear looses traction due to excess in power

2) corner entry oversteer [you guys say: backing it in] = rear end looses traction under trail braking phase due to the initial turning force accompanied by the rear end being light due to weight transfer to the front