Mental Block

sean

I can't seem to bring myself to lean past a certain point. I really don't get it--I've done 3 levels of SBS, a handful of trackdays, I've been riding for about 10 years now...but I just can't seem to bring myself to lean past a certain point (which is WAY less than my bike is capable of). It's so frustrating because I just can't seem to make any more progress in my riding. I really don't understand what's holding me back. It's enough to make me want to give up motorcycling.

Any hints from the sensei?

I don't know if you have tried this, but it has worked for me in the past as well as all of my friends (which is only 3 people by the way). Find a piece of road that has good spots to turn around so you can section off about 2 miles. Ride this section back and forth (3rd gear turns work really well) paying close attention to your lean angle. Don't use the breaks or gas it really hard just practice getting the cornering spead a little higher. This works best if you really know the road, as if it was part of your favorite track. Go slightly faster in the turn, to the point where you can feel a little uncomforterble but know 99.9% that you will make it. Keep going that speed until it feels good, then go a little faster. As long as you have checked the road for slippery spots ect, and your not charging in too hard and are keeping a pretty smooth steady speed you should be able to keep increasing your speed until your knee hits, or your drag a peg. The trick to this is finding the right part of road, you don't want to be trying this on decreasing turns, they need to be constant radius. I know that I am comfortable enough to try to go faster if I can look at my speedo easily, which is another reason to only do this on constant radius turns.