Engine Oil

Hello all,

OK, some questions for the techies... My s1000rr is a track only bike. Full exhaust, HP Race ECU...it's a blast. Want to put in there some better oil than the one my BMW dealer put in last time it went for the engine check. I have to admit I know nothing about oils...and I would like something that works with that amazing engine and that is a bit more adapted to racing than traditional oils, given that the bike only goes on the track, so the engine is used accordingly.

Any advice ? I know BMW is recommending Castrol (but there are about 10000 types of oils), CSS goes with Silkolene...and what about Motul...in fact, the brand is one thing, but there are so many differences in the composition etc...

Thanks for the tips !

Discussing engine oils between motorcycle enthusiasts can get you into a fist fight, so be warned!

My father is a petrochemical engineer by trade and worked in the lubrication industry all his (working) life. His recommendations to people whenever they ask him is simple: Choose an oil that has the same specs (API, SAE, etc) as what the manufacturer prescribes in the manual.

That's it. Forget about brand X is better than brand Y. It's BS.

The reason the "brand war" is BS is that they all use identical base oils etc to get to those specifications. If they didn't, it would show up as a spec difference.

For your racebike, I would still use the same engine oil, but change it more frequently.

Kai

I agree with khp on this. While we don't agree on engine sounds we do agree on oil and oil threads. :)