How About A Newbie

mha

Question for instructors:

Do you or would you take on a total newbie? In other words a person who has absolutely no experience on motorcycles and is only just starting to ride. See forum under Kook. Reason I ask is that being a new rider it would be good to learn good techniques and not pickup bad habits or stupid ideas from other common street riders. What a better place to learn and become proficient then under experienced and proven race instructors.

Good Idea?

Muhaha

Do you or would you take on a total newbie? In other words a person who has absolutely no experience on motorcycles and is only just starting to ride. See forum under Kook. Reason I ask is that being a new rider it would be good to learn good techniques and not pickup bad habits or stupid ideas from other common street riders. What a better place to learn and become proficient then under experienced and proven race instructors.

Good Idea?

Muhaha

Hi Muhaha and welcome to the forum :)

I'm no instructor, but from what I've read on the sign up page, the SBK school require that "Students must have some riding experience -- we do not train first time riders." You'll have to clarify what "some" means, but probably doing the rider safety foundation course would be a good start. I believe that's the equivalent of getting your road license. At least then you'd know the basic controls and functions. After you learn the basics would be a perfect time to get into GOOD habits in the school so they can catch any bad habits early and help you to become a great rider. Good luck and hope to see you out there sometime :)

Good Idea?

Muhaha

No, we don't take total newbies. You need to be able to concentrate on the drill that you're working on out in the track without being totally engrossed in figuring out what control to use.