Can You Go Too Slow?

Toontje

Hi all!

I have the Twist books already for year and I've read them maybe a million times. Now I bought the twist DVD as well and I got enthusiastic applying Keiths technique. Now, I'm not a newbie, I ride all kinds of bikes already for more than 30 years (yes, that's 30, not 3).

Now I started on dirt bikes like many of us. The problem is that I seem to be unable to adapt to the road riding style. Even after so many years I am still charging the turns, breaking in late and hard until way in the turn, turn the bike around like an MX rider and hard on the gas out.

Now, I know that this is slow, unsafe, stupid, etc, but I feel comfortable riding like this.

So I want to learn to do it the proper way.

So turning in late, flicking the bike, finding the apex and roll on the gas throughout the whole turn. That's a lot of things to think about. So what is the solution? Doing it in slow motion.

Going in slow, finding the turning point, tipping the bike (not easy going slow) finding the apex (two-step), gassing it slowly and evenly.

Now, I cannot tell you how difficult this is. I felt insecure, almost dropped the bike, made one huge slide (lucky I gassed it and, for this one only time, not dropped the gas) and all at around 50 km/h. I even started looking at the bike thinking "what's wrong with you? Tires? Suspension?".

Then I recovered my confidence and started riding like an MX again, charging corners, etc and all went well.

So analyzing the situation I did everything wrong. Rolling off the gas in mid turn, holding on the bars too tight, not relaxed, excessive rider input, should I go on? I basically had a 100% on the SR achievements!!

Now, what to do? There is no CSS here in Spain, at least not this year anymore. Keep practicing and suffer? Keep riding like an MX? Stop watching Supermoto videos?

BTW, I ride an sit upright sportsbike, a 690 KTM Duke. But I don't think this should make a difference on the technique to use, no?