Should I Wait, Or Ride?

Guest Josiah K

Guest Josiah K

Hi all,

I'm turning 18 in just a few months and riding has been one of my dreams for 7+ years. I am in great phisical and mental condition (no, really :blink: ), so that is not what makes me wonder if now is a good time to start riding. It's the money. As a 18 y/o male, am I going to pay the price of a new bike every year in insurance?

I want to do it right, I'm gunna take all the classes and training I can get, and I don't intend to do anything stupid (I know the difference between a raceway and a freeway). But should I wait a little while longer before I actually start riding? I'm a "starving college student" making barely more than minimum wage.

Thanks in advance,

Josiah K (aka: Si Ko)

One vote here for go for it!!!! I started riding street at 15 on a little yamaha srx25. Also you can surly count on high insurance I put my own insurance payment into the bank each month because just like you said I would end up paying more than the bike is worth in a years time. Plus if I manage not to need it I'll have enough for my second bike. (can a guy have too many?) In my opinion there alot of guys who probably would survive longer if they waited on a bike but do it the right way be safe and watch out for all the yahoos as well as keep your testosterone in check and enjoy the sport for a greater portion of your life. Also I have no regrets in the choice of my first bike it was small light and inexpensive. I learned alot with that bike and it was easier to get out of trouble than a larger displacment higher horsepower bike would have been with a novice at the controls. Good Luck

Guest Josiah K

This is a question I'm sure has been asked before, but...

Should I get a bike I really like (I love the 2004 GSX-R600), or one that will be an easy starter bike (such as the Ninja 250r)?

Josiah