Tire Warmers

I recently had an experience with tire warmers that I wanted to share. I went to a track day in December and the outside temps barely got into the 60's all day and most of the time it was in the mid 50's. I have had some great experiences in the past with warmers but I suddenly realized the shortcomings after the cold time I spent at the track.

My bike is a BMW S1000RR on Dunlop Q3's. I typically run a hot pressure of 31 front 26 rear. My warmers are set to 160F. For the cold I set the pressure to 34 and 28 hot because the cooling effect from going from 160 down would reduce the pressure lower than I wanted. I asked a few experienced people about the pressure because of the cold temps. Their advice was odd but made sense. I'm glad I went with it even if I don't fully understand. :)

What was most shocking to me is how quickly the tires cooled off. When I returned from most of the sessions I was seeing temps in between 65F and 73F. This was an unscientific test of course since I was using the temps off of the warmers themselves but it was a surprise that the tires were unable to hold a good temperature.

Overall I'm an average rider and not one of the "fast guys". I use warmers not out of need but for an extra margin of safety. In a normal temperature environment warmers might be a slight pain but they provide some great peace of mind knowing the tires are "as hot as they can be" right away. They don't stay that way though if it's cold out. :)

RChase,