Newbie Here, From L.a

Hey guys,

I'm a newbie to this forum and to biking.

I live in L.A and I recently bought a 2008 Kawi 650cc. Unfortunately I was in a crash a week after I bought it. My arm was dislocated and I have a minor fracture that should be done healing within a couple days. I'm visiting my doctor on Wednesday for a followup.

Luckily the bike is fixable. The radiator and fairings are bust. I'm going to get it repaired as soon as I hear back from my doc if it's okay to get on a bike. I'm not sure whether I should wait for the insurance to give me the money to repair the bike or just go and do it myself and wait for the check later.

Because of the accident though, I'm rather hesitant to get back on the bike, as my ego has been seriously bruised with both my pocket and my concept of life. Is riding in L.A blatant suicide or will skill really help me get over this fear? Another problem I have is I'm not sure where to practice. I have a lot next to my house but it's really small and I'm worried about neighbors complaining of the noise.

Would I be able to attend this superbike school to increase my skills or am I too much of a beginner with only a month of riding under my belt at most?

I love bikes, and I simply want to be good at them. I'm just afraid of it being too dangerous for my own good, especially in L.A.

Any support/feedback/tips would be amazing.

Thanks,

Daniel

Daniel,

Sorry about your mis-hap. Difficult to answer your question about the school. Yes, it is not for beginners. And yes, you should attend as soon as you feel comfortable riding a motorcycle.

Have you years of riding experience ... or just the one week before your unfortunate accident?

I suggest that you call the school and talk with one of the coaches. A conversation with one of them should give you a good plan of action for attending CSS.

Hi Daniel,

Welcome to the forum!