My 2-day Camp Experience In Detail

JeF4y

http://www.cbr600rr.com/pages/reviews/code.htm

Here's the text of it:

Riding with Gods - My 2 day California Superbike School experience.

I've been riding in one shape or another for 25+ years now, and have been racing for 5 years. About 7 years ago, I got real serious about sport riding, and in seeking more knowledge, I picked up a copy of Keith Code's "A Twist of the Wrist II" (henceforth referred to as TOTWII) (review - purchase). This book completely changed the way I rode and looked at things, and in my humble opinion, is one of the BEST things that a new rider can add to his bike. Well before a new exhaust, jet kit, power commander, etc, buy this book and read it. To date I've probably read it 50 times, but I digress.

One of my sponsors (Terry Embury - Hi-Side Racing) is a retired CSS instructor, and has talked to me many times about going through the school. Earlier this year, I talked to Keith about doing the one day class, and after some discussion, I took his recommendation on the 2 day course.

The class was held at Blackhawk Farms in Rockton, IL. This is my "home track" which I've put on better than 10,000 laps over the last few years. I could probably run the track in my sleep. My personal best lap time there was a 1:15.2, and I really should be in the low 1:13 range. Consistently, I run high 15's, low 16's.

Going into the class, I kept an open mind. I wanted to understand what I was doing wrong and what barriers were preventing me from going faster, and riding more comfortably. I had a number of goals about increasing corner speeds and dropping lap times as well.

Tuesday 6/1 - I got my bike about 90% back together from a pretty nasty crash on 5/28 which kept me from racing on the 5/29-30 weekend. I made it to the track around 10 pm and finished off the bike, retiring around 11pm.