Deep Cornering !

Orion

I'm pretty new to biking, but am progressing steadily.

I've read TOTW & TWOTW2 - Not yet ready to attend school but need some advice.

I'm cutting corners too early, rights and lefts. This often causes me to run wide - especially on fast tight bends. I know I should go deeper before turning, but have a mental block in doing this. I can't seem to convince myself that if I run an extra 10ft I will still be able to make the turn.

Any advice/drills would be much appreciated.

Thanks

Do you have a plan for the corner/s?

I ask because I found this to be the biggest help when I was trying to get over the same thing as yourself.

I'd say choose a corner that always suckers you into turning in too early and work on that one corner so you can experiment a little.

Decide what you want from the corner - ie, where you want to be and what you want to be doing at the end.

Choose a point where you want to start getting back on the throttle which will be somewhere near the apex.

Now choose a few turn in points.

Firstly choose one that you think will compliment the other 2 the best.

Now choose one that you normally take - which is too shallow

Now choose one that is really deep.

Even though you're changing the turn in points, keep the other rp's the same so you can experience the difference beween shallow and deep turn in points.

Why work backwards?

Well, I found this worked really well for me because the reason I was turning in too early was that I did not know where I wanted to be at the end of the turn, and if you don't know what you want from the turn, how are you supposed to know what to do at the begining.

It's like getting into a Taxi Cab and just saying "drive". The Cab driver will ask you where to and if you don't tell him, how will he know which direction to go in?

(I know, bad analogy but it makes the point)

People told me to look through the corner which is good advice, but I didn't really know what I was look at.