Cam Tension

Might be too basic, but I've been wondering this for some time. Why?!?

Disclaimer: I'm a definite engine novice...just recently went from menace to wrench-turner ;):lol:

So: Why do I have to periodically tighten the cam tensioner? -and- Is the "rattle" I hear just before I tighten it, the sound of the valves not closing/oping completely?

-Material from the tensioner wears?

-The cam is wearing?

-Just cause?

A friend gave me an adjustable tensioner, so it's pretty easy now. But seems to me isn't something that should be adjusted often. ***I'm tightening it for the thrid time this weekend [based upon the service manual specs - finger tight then 1/4 turn]*** (about 50k miles on it).

Might be too basic, but I've been wondering this for some time. Why?!?

Disclaimer: I'm a definite engine novice...just recently went from menace to wrench-turner ;):lol:

So: Why do I have to periodically tighten the cam tensioner? -and- Is the "rattle" I hear just before I tighten it, the sound of the valves not closing/oping completely?

-Material from the tensioner wears?

-The cam is wearing?

-Just cause?

A friend gave me an adjustable tensioner, so it's pretty easy now. But seems to me isn't something that should be adjusted often. ***I'm tightening it for the thrid time this weekend [based upon the service manual specs - finger tight then 1/4 turn]*** (about 50k miles on it).

it wasn't that long ago that all bikes had manual adjusters for the cam chain, we did them with every tune up. The cam chain is a roller chain just like the drive chain and as they wear the slack must be taken up. The tension on the chain itself is on the opposite side as the tensioner, I don't know what makes the noise but I think it's the chain riding up the sprocket teeth when it too loose or slapping the chain guide. the vales are not effected by the chain being a little loose.