Leaning

ak47

Hello all,

I am pretty new to riding, I currently ride a yzf600r I know that it is no superbike, but its still fun. I am joining this forum looking for some guidance, I could always use the knowledge and experience of others.

Well, my curiosity I guess is how much can I trust the bike to lean? I watch the moto gp circuit and I see these riders at maximum lean and they seem pretty deep.

When I am out on the street I know that the bike should be able to lean or corner very efficiently, I think that maybe I just have a fear of pushing it over further.

Any tips or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Hi AK,

We'll of course suggest that you come to a school and get some training, but depending on where you are, might not be able to get that done right away (we even have a Lean Bike to help with this). Keith Code's books on riding, Twist 1 and Twist 2 have a ton of information, and you can start with that right away. The chapters on Throttle Control in Twist 2 will give you excellent info on how to stabilize the bike, get the best out of the tires and suspension too.

Is there a specific situation that makes you a little nervous while cornerning?

Best,

Cobie Fair

Chief Riding Coach

Hi AK,

We'll of course suggest that you come to a school and get some training, but depending on where you are, might not be able to get that done right away (we even have a Lean Bike to help with this). Keith Code's books on riding, Twist 1 and Twist 2 have a ton of information, and you can start with that right away. The chapters on Throttle Control in Twist 2 will give you excellent info on how to stabilize the bike, get the best out of the tires and suspension too.

Is there a specific situation that makes you a little nervous while cornerning?

Best,

Cobie Fair

Chief Riding Coach