Race V 2 Day Camps

Hi, I just completed Level 1 with you guys at Laguna on Monday. It was great fun and I learn a few new things... Which got me thinking about coming back again. So in looking at your 2009 schedule there are two RACE programs. How are these different from the two day camps? I'm wondering if they wouldn't be a better fit for me as, I'm a novice racer looking to get better/faster on the track.

• 2 weeks later...
Hi, I just completed Level 1 with you guys at Laguna on Monday. It was great fun and I learn a few new things... Which got me thinking about coming back again. So in looking at your 2009 schedule there are two RACE programs. How are these different from the two day camps? I'm wondering if they wouldn't be a better fit for me as, I'm a novice racer looking to get better/faster on the track.

Isn't there anyone out there who can answer this one for me???

Zia;

It's been a few years since I attended CodeRACE but I think it is fair to say that they are quite different.

The 2 Day Camp is a more intensive version of their single day schools. In the 2 Day, there are only 2 groups v. 3 so there are more track sessions and a lower student/track coach ratio. The 2 Day camp has all of the off track bikes for use (although some may be limited depending on the Levels a student takes) and there is more video available.

CodeRACE is like a WERA/CCS Race weekend but it still includes some instruction. You have timed practice sessions with your lap times used to determine your grid position in each of the end of day races. The drills are all race focused and it is all about racing.

Depending upon your track skills, I believe there is more benefit to completing all four levels of the regular school first before attending the Race School. Since all four levels build upon each other and give a rider a more complete approach to cornering, your racing will likely be more productive once you have been exposed to all that the school offers. YRMV.