New Here. Signing Up For Barber

Hi all. I have been wanting to take this school since 2005 when I first started riding but my schedule has not allowed it. But I'm planning on doing the school on June 6th at Barber. I currently race for WERA/CMRA but have never had any real instruction. So I'm looking to learn as much as I can. I started riding a TL1000R and have gotten smaller bikes ever since in an attempt at starting small to make for a better rider. I never had the luxury to start on a bike when I was a kid and work my way up. I started when I was 26. So that's why I am currently racing a 2008 250R and a SV650. Will running my 250 be a problem there? I do ok on it and am currently leading the N.F and S.E. region for novice.

Well just figured I'd introduce myself and say that I can't wait to take the school. Would Level 1 be the best place to start? Or do I even have a choice?

Dustin

Welcome Dustin,

Barber was where I attended my first Keith Code school. You will be fine but I think you are going to have somewhat of an advantage for the no brakes drill on a 250.

I have given this advice before so here it goes again. Free your mind of what you think you know and open your mind to the instruction you will get. Because you are an accomplished rider, you might think what you are doing is unnecessary or you might try to look past a drill in hopes of getting where you think you should be. Relax, Relax, Relax. Be conscious of the experince and don't let one drill pass with out your complete participation. Barber is a beautiful track, CSS is a first class outfit and I promise you will have a great experience. So don't get in a hurry or the day will be over to soon.