Coaching Idea

PoppaNoDoz

First off I am not telling anyone their business - so if you're a coach and you read this it isn't intended to make you mad. I've taught classes and I've been a student and I have a genuine interest in learning more as well as improving the art of education.

That disclaimer aside, here's an idea: Having a student draw for you the track. Go out, have a session with a student, see where they are making mistakes, then have them come in and draw you a map of the track and have THEM tell YOU where they feel strong and weak. After they draw the track, based on their input and what you've just seen you can give some very pointed correction.

You could apply it the way you apply the steering drill - maybe 3/4 the way through day one of Level I or ANY day where you have a particular student who is a good student but is frustrated by his or her progress.

Here's where I am coming from - for many riders they are new to the track they are riding, maybe they've never ridden on a track or never at THIS track. They are severely distracted or at the very least over stimulated. They may finish the 2 sighting laps and come back and genuinely NOT have a clear picture of how the track is actually laid out. It may take them literally half the day to even get a mental picture of what corner follows what and where. Having them draw you the track may help them to remember the layout and that in turn will help them become relaxed faster and subsequently more focused. It might even be something you tell students early on - that after a session you are going to want them to draw a picture of the track they just rode.