The Wife And I

Hello all. First I want to apologize for posting questions that have been asked here before. I can't seem to find the previous post so I am stuck bugging you all again! The wife and I are taking level 1 in two weeks at NJMP(I have been waiting all summer!) and we are unsure about whether or not we should try to be in the same group. We are able to work very well together and often times compliment the learning process for each other. On the other hand being separate and able to only concentrate on absorbing the information is very important as well. So if anyone has been in this situation please let me know what you did and how it turned out and if any of the coaches have any thoughts please chime in. Thanks for the ear!

You will probably want to be in the same riding group so that your track time and classroom time coincide, but whether you request to share the same coach is up to you.

As a coach, I'll say that sometimes we see one spouse try to "help" the other with additional coaching, which becomes a distraction and can introduce confusion, etc. That would be the main thing to avoid.

From a student perspective (because I took some schools with my husband) I found it to be fun because we could hear each other's interaction with the coach, but also slightly distracting as I was paying a little bit of attention to his riding, in addition to my own. (I can tell you that if my husband had tried to critique my riding that would have upset me.) Anyway, we have done both, shared a coach or had different coaches, and we ultimately ended up with no preference one way or the other, it was fun either way. :)

You will probably want to be in the same riding group so that your track time and classroom time coincide...