Air Temp Effects?

Hey Tim,

I raced my Moriwaki yesterday (CRF250X motor). It was COLD out, about 30 degrees F in the morning and around 45 or so by race time. My bike normally warms up to 80C or higher, and it got up to 67 or so in the pits, but once I started riding the temp reading dropped to around 48 degrees C from the cold air.

I've seen people tape up part of the radiator (on go-karts, anyway) on cold days to keep the engine temp higher - is that something I should be doing on my bike when it is cold? It seemed to run fine, maybe a bit down on power at low RPM, but otherwise OK. Does the radiator temp matter for engine performance?

Anything else I should be aware of on particularly hot or cold days, should I be adjusting anything?

Brrrr Laura...that sounds pretty cold. :/

Running your bike on the colder side will definitely have some side effects. Below are two of the major ones that pop in my head...

1. Colder temperatures will make all of the lubricating fluids "thicker", which will steal some horsepower. The engine has to use more power to push the thicker oil around. I have seen this A LOT when dynoing bikes up here in Montana. When I'm making dynoruns on our cold Harley Road King, I've seen the power increase as much as 10 horsepower as the bike is warming up.

2. One of the other side effects of running an engine on the colder side is the effect it has on fuel vaporization. When the fuel and air are making their way toward the combustion chamber, the fuel vaporizes on all the hot engine parts that it is passing by. This vaporization is a good thing because the smaller fuel vapor particles are easier to ignite when the spark plug fires. If the engine parts are cold, the fuel doesn't vaporize as much making it slightly harder to ignite.