How To Practice Pivot Steering Away From The Track

apextc

I'm a newbie hoping someday to take CSS but for I do track days in the Chicago area during the 5 months of summer that we have. I am learning from great coaches we have with sportbiketracktime.com and have learned plenty from this forum. AMAZING WORK, KUDO's to the team!

My question:

How can I practice offline steering the motorcycle using pivot points ? On a bicycle or even on the streets.

I know there is a difference of opinion where riders swear by it to corner and others counter steer by pushing or pulling on the bar. I'm having a hard time on corners pivoting and weighting the inside peg- i apply a lot of pressure where I get sore after 4/8 sessions.

post-24114-0-78816400-1412697374_thumb.jpg

Hi ApexTC,

Let's break this down as the first step. How is the bike steered into the turn (or once turned up and out, or right into the next turn).

What's your understanding of how the bike changes direction?

CF

Hi Cobie, this is what I have done from reading Twist of the Wrist 2, watching the DVD, listening to the coaches (some former AMA riders) and from experience.

Scenario: A right hand turn on a track. My reference points are either on the ground or the 4, 3, 2 , 1 markers that car drivers use

Checklist:

1.Coming down the straight I ensure my crotch is a few inches from the tank

2. Squeeze tank and brake

3. get lowER (squat position on the bike)

4. freeze/lock the throttle

5. Push on right handle bar

6. Dig left thigh on gas tank

7. Twist right foot and rest heel on swing arm (I dont have rear sets but investigating as a newbie who's been on the track n 5 times so far if I should get them - i posted a separate post on this)

8. Kiss the right mirror, drop elbow

9. Look where I want to go

10. I hit the apex and apply pressure on my left foot and use the left knee to come back up (sort of like the kneee to knee technique)

the key in doing all this is thinking to myself - SMOOTH