What Happens When A Coach Is A Student?

First, I'm a coach for the school.

Second I started racing again in July. And even though I got a 5th place in Expert Unlimted Supersport - my first race in 4 years - I found I wasn't at the speed I wanted to be and I was having difficulty with issues I thought were resolved. Specifically I was having problems holding on to the bike during acceleration and that was causing cramping in my arms.

To handle that I decided to be a student at the Superbike School for a day at Barber.

I attended as a Level 4 student. That means I can attend what ever briefing I want of the other 3 levels and I have, effectively, two coaches - my on-track coach, James Toohey, and the Level 4 coach, Pete Castanik.

Despite rain in the first half of the day, James was able to spot some issues with my body position on right hand turns and we worked on that. He also spotted some visual issues I was have and we later worked on that. Pete further had some really good advice on right side body position issues due to the throttle. Remember, these were 'minor' issues.

I also did the Lean Machine and the Slide Bike with Josh Galster coaching. Great tools to get your body position and your throttle finely tuned.

One week later I was racing again at Homestead. My previous best lap was a 1:34.6 and that caused my arms to cramp. My new best lap is a 1:31.5 and I'm easily running '32s - without my arms cramping. I don't think there's a cheaper way to make a bike 3 seconds per lap faster.

I think you have to start at level 1. A lot has changed since the last time you were last a student.

Wanna be my coach? A few years ago we had a school that wasn't full, and Keith rode that day and wanted a coach. We picked one of my then fast guys, but he was a little new to the program--he didn't quite know how to deal with coaching Keith.

OK, I got a question: how does one put one of the smilie faces shown at the bottom when composing an e-mail?