Pre-braking

chopperbill

Although I have over 35 years on 2 wheels, and have raced off road, I'm new to road racing. I've taken level 1 & 2. My question is; what is this pre-braking I hear Rossi talk about? I understand Spencer did it also. What is the science behind squeezing the brake lightly for a second or so before full on braking?

Although I have over 35 years on 2 wheels, and have raced off road, I'm new to road racing. I've taken level 1 & 2. My question is; what is this pre-braking I hear Rossi talk about? I understand Spencer did it also. What is the science behind squeezing the brake lightly for a second or so before full on braking?

I'm going to make an uneducated guess on this one that it distributes the weight a little more gradually than overloading the front end all at once? Maybe also helps to avoid locking the front? Now I expect the experts will come on and tell me I'm wrong....haha.

Yes, the two-stage "pre-braking" technique transfers weight to the front tire so you reduce the chance of locking it up when you get into the brakes full force. Even just gradually getting into them is better than "snatching" a handful of brakes.

Hmm.... maybe I'm just naturaly pre-braking then, because I've never felt like I was locking up the front wheel. thanks for the help.

If you have never locked the front brake, it would be a good idea to purposely do so in a controlled environment to experience what it feels like when it happens and learn what to do to handle it in an emergency. In fact, the school has a special braking rig bike and standard drill just for this purpose where students learn to gradually ease out of the brake lever to smoothly re-gain traction and allow the wheel to rotate again.

Hmm.... maybe I'm just naturaly pre-braking then, because I've never felt like I was locking up the front wheel. thanks for the help.