Riding And Driving

The other day I was wondering what the accident rate is for an experienced motorcyclist while driving an automobile. It was commented to me that I drive in similar style to how I ride. My choice of vehicle has been influenced by my riding.

So, thinking in numbers I wonder if an insurance company would be willing to adjust the rates for my auto premium because I participate in motorcycle related schools and events. It couldn't hurt, right? I'm a better driver than the guy in the Mercedes next to me who can't hold his line, right?

So I got to thinking, an insurance actuary could provide data in 4 categories, off-road rider, high performance track rider, street-sport rider, and cruiser rider, whom I suspect will have the smallest change in accident rate.

In theory, the high performance track rider would have the safest driving record, followed by the off-road (dirt) rider and then the street rider, followed by the cruiser with an auto accident rate similar to the general non-motorcycling population.

So, until we get an insurance actuary to chime in, I propose in this thread we discuss our subjective evaluation of our own driving habits and how motorcycling has or has not helped us in that area.

Well, my vehicle choice has been influenced by my motorcycling. I enjoy the feedback that my car provides and the cornering ability it has. It doesn't have monster HP, but the feel and handling is superb. It's Rear-Wheel drive, so I remind myself to get on the power immediately after turn-in, and I try and feed it in, while feeling the grip and the turning forces.

I drive my car and often practice the 2-step drill (Pickup doesn't work so well).

I think I'm safer than I was before, because situations that would have caused me to panic does not. It's just part of the game. I pride myself on some of the sticky situations I've avoided from keeping a cool head and thinking ahead of the situation AND having situational awareness.