Generators & Tire Warmers

Gentlemen,

Since I started riding 3-years ago I've attended a dozen Superbike Schools and two Code Race Schools. Just sold my Aprilia RSV4 Factory and purchased a Yoshimura Suzuki.

The bike came with tire warmers, but no generator. Being my first race bike, I've never had a bike with race tires, tire warmers etc.

Question is......I understand I need 2,000 watt generator, would prefer not to spend $1,000. Any suggestions where to look, I guess I'm back to squid status for having to ask questions.....the pit crew is now me. Any suggestions would be great.

Greg

• 2 weeks later...

Ebay, Craigslist, etc. I've even seen some good deals on Amazon for refurbished stuff.

But yeah - a new Honda generator is pricey; I think the Yamahas might be slightly more reasonable.

Gentlemen,

Since I started riding 3-years ago I've attended a dozen Superbike Schools and two Code Race Schools. Just sold my Aprilia RSV4 Factory and purchased a Yoshimura Suzuki.

The bike came with tire warmers, but no generator. Being my first race bike, I've never had a bike with race tires, tire warmers etc.

Question is......I understand I need 2,000 watt generator, would prefer not to spend $1,000. Any suggestions where to look, I guess I'm back to squid status for having to ask questions.....the pit crew is now me. Any suggestions would be great.

Greg

I have two of the Honda generators, I think the model is eu2000i. They work great and they are REALLY quiet. (We got two because you can connect them together and that provided enough power to run the A/C in our trailer, but one is certainly enough to run tire warmers.) You can find them on eBay, usually, or if you shop around you can sometimes find a good price online; at the time we bought ours we ordered from out of state and thus paid no sales tax (and got free shipping) so it was a great deal, but I'm not sure if you can still do that.