First Street Experience Since Completing Level 1

On May 20th I took CSS level 1 at NJMP, and to sum it up, I was blown away by the whole experience. What an eye opener. In fact I actually signed up for level 2 that same day. I have been itching to get out onto the street since, but between work and lousy weather today was my first time riding since the course, thought I'd share some thoughts.

I've been riding for over 20 years, 15 on the street and felt I was a safe, good rider. I never realized how much more I could get out of riding until CSS. I was amazed at how practical the techniques learned at level1 were when applied to real world street riding. My whole riding experience changed...for the better! The confidence and control I felt were immediate. I really felt as if I was one with my bike. I felt safer than I have ever felt on the road, but it was not a false confidence.

If I had one criticism of myself, it would be going a little too fast on the street. Not reckless in any way but when rolling on the throttle definitely need to remember I'm not n the track. How does everyone else keep themselves in check? Anyhow, looking forward to level 2 in September!

Cheers

Mike

...definitely need to remember I'm not on the track. How does everyone else keep themselves in check?

Mike

Mike;

By constantly reminding myself "I'm not on the track". When I ride my street Ducati it is a real struggle to maintain this approach but there really isn't a choice IMHO.

I also have an old Triumph Bonneville I restored that I ride with no such pretensions so no desire to push it like my 996; It can't do what a sportsbike can so I don't even try - and it's all good!

Having said that however, I am stunned at times but how much more I push that old Bonnie after all of my CSS training.

Rainman

Hi Mike,