Greetings From Silicon Valley

Hello everyone!

I started reading Twist of the Wrist in 1985, the same year I started riding street bikes. I had managed to scare myself pretty badly transitioning from dirt riding on my little Suzuki RM50, to riding a Honda CB360T. Lucky for me the moto shop in Gilroy had ToTW, so a young squid grew safely into a careful older squid. wink.gif Over 250K miles that technology and understanding has saved my life and limbs countless times. I was really happy to finally meet Keith and thank him in person this last Sunday, at the Doc Wong event.

I've read ToTW I & II, have both videos, and have given copies to riders in need as well. I laughed pretty hard at the chicken strip intro to our protagonists in II, I know I wasn't nearly that cool when I handed out my copies.

I am scheduled to attend CSS Level 1 at Streets later this month. Two things finally got me to sign up for class, one was my Father.. He learned to ride on his own in the 60's, and taught me everything I knew about riding... I figured out that most of what I "knew" was wrong without having to crash. He also stopped riding when I started, but just started up again two years ago...MSF and some parking lot training was fine until he traded his big cruiser for a '07 ZX-10R. [/wave Hi Pops! ].

The second thing was that I was out of riding for a few years with a broken back. I have noticed over the last few years of daily riding that even "knowing" what to do has not been enough. I need some expert instruction. So now we are both getting ready for class, reading this forum, the books, and watching the videos.

A big /wave and thank you to Pete who was my instructor on Sunday, you rocked! I posted up some photos on my local forum. The video I recorded of the training is really helpful for review too.