School Bike Suspension Setup

I was a student at the two day VIR August 13/14 class, and had a blast! This is my first post here and I have a question about school bike setup.

I talked to Will about tire pressures, and am using his recommended pressures on the Q2's on my '12 S1000RR, but the bike still doesn't feel like the school bikes. I am 172# befire gear and am running the stock BMW suspension settings.

What settings are you using at the school?

Compression, rebound, preload, and did you raise the forks in the triples?

Any help replicating your settings would be great. I am going to Atlanta Motorsports Park soon for a track day and am excited to put all of my new skills to work.

Best,

MrPou

• 3 weeks later...

Here is Will's answer in another thread about the same question

http://forums.superbikeschool.com/index.php?showtopic=3539

Hi Will!

First off, thanks for letting me look over your shoulder and ask a bunch of newbie questions during the 2 day school at VIR August 15&16, 2012. I was the guy who was asking about the R&G frame sliders while you were picking a rock out of the fairing and replacing the slider after a crash.smile.gif Incidentally, I'm in the process of replacing my Yoshi's with R&Gs.cool.gif
Soooooo, I get home from the school, more in love with my S1000rr than ever after riding your brilliant machines, and I take it for a two mile ride and it just feels terrible! I may be jumping the gun a bit because the tire pressures were off (I usually ride 33F/36R, Metzler K3's but the gauge indicated 33R, didn't even bother checking the front, just assumed a proportionate reduction in PSI) and the bike has been sitting for a few weeks but the steering felt awful.