2018 S1000RR Setup for Success

First, I'm sorry if this is a repeat question.

I am in the process of picking up a used 2018 S1000RR (premium pkg)and will be immediately converting to a track bike. Not my first track build, just my first BMW track build. So aside from the universal changes, are there any bike specific settings that I should consider changing?  ex. the eccentric shock mount  IIRC, the turn in and ability to hold a tighter line in some of the older models benefited significantly from such changes. Not sure if that holds true for 2018.

I've been riding with CSS about twice a year since 2011 so I'm no stranger to the bike and honestly have been pretty happy with the characteristics of the student bikes but would be interested in anything that would enhance the experience.

Many thanks!

• 1 month later...

Hey! My apologies because I am not really helping with this....but what modifications did you make to allow the bike to hold a tighter line? 

I have not had any issues with tight lines on the 2017 S1000RR....but if there is a way to make it even better I would like to know!  Would you mind elaborating on the changes you made? 

As far as my experience with modifications: I have only upgraded tires once I wear them out and I update me as a rider with school attendance or reading/ practicing. So I am interested in how you made the S1000RR better! 

Hey Adam. IMO it all starts with the rider. If you haven't done CSS, get your butt out there. :) Regarding the original post; At the time of that posting, I hadn't made any changes. I was still trying to recall information from a conversation I had with one of the instructors a couple years back. Secondly, as the bike has changed a little over the years, I wasn't even sure that those changes were necessary anymore. I got a hold of Johnny at the school and was able to get the following clarification: