Controlling Race Nerves

I could use some help... I'm rather new to the race scene and have an upcoming race which is my biggest race yet. How do you control your race nerves? I am worried about being calm and cool headed enough to get a good, smooth, fast start (in a big crowd!), keeping my wide view in a tight pack of riders, and being able to fight the urge to turn in early, something that I find happens when the adrenaline kicks in.

Any ideas/advice on how to stay calm and sensible, when the green flag drops?

I'm looking forward to the replies as I suffer the same problems.

Good question Hotfoot! One of the great things about racing is you can't help but learn something about yourself from simply being on the grid.

I guess dealing with nerves is a personal thing, and I don't know that there is any one way that would work for 2 people.

I have found that the mind just goes crazy with thoughts in the lead up to a race, and it becomes pretty distracting. Do you find something similar? Or maybe the thoughts get you so fired up that the adrenaline just takes over and it's like you're just a passenger on some red misted rollercoaster?

As Adam said, I don't think there is the uniform answer to the problem here. Yeah, you're going to be nervous, but I always found taking deep breaths on the grid works. Trying to put my attention onto my starting revs, making sure I'm thinking of the flag/lights clutch position etc, seems to help take my fultering nerves away a little. My heart still races terribly, but thats just adrenalin letting me know I'm still alive, and that can't be a bad thing can it...? :P

Bullet