Braking With Abs

We've all heard the stories about someone claiming to deliberately have 'laid the bike down' to avoid an accident, right?

Complete and utter BS. Bike went down because the rider panicked and locked up the brakes. Period. Sliding on asphalt towards an immovable object is not the preferred way to avoid hitting said object. Keeping the bike upright, under maximum braking is.

ABS is a life saver. I have been riding BMW's with ABS since 1994. My current street bike is an 03 K 1200 GT.

Up until I got my S 1000 RR, I have ridden the K bike exclusively while coaching track days for the local BMW dealer.

Sometimes the guys brought their crotch rockets, such as 1000 Gixxers to these events. Blew past me on the straights. I could out-brake every single one of them at the end. I can brake harder on that BMW than I ever did on my Yamaha R1 track bike. The amount of confidence, peace of mind offered by ABS is just amazing.

The S1000 RR ABS is leap years better than anything I have ever had the pleasure of riding. Keep in mind that the four individual settings affect not just the ABS, but also the power delivery, Traction control and Wheelie control.

With simple push-button activation, the S 1000 RR rider may scroll through these four settings:

• "Rain" Mode
  • "Sport" Mode for aggressive street riding
  • "Race" Mode for track days with DOT tires or very aggressive canyon carving
  • "Slick" Mode : full blown racetrack set-up

Most of us on this forum will never use the "Rain" mode. The Traction Control and ABS is way too intrusive for the kind of riding we would like to think we are doing, but, it's a perfect setting for a novice. Not that I would let a novice anywhere near MY S 1000 RR. LOL

"Sport" mode - perfect for the average street ride. Gobs of power, pop all the wheelies you want, brake hard, have fun. Still too intrusive for me.