Suspension Compliance

Here's one for Balistic and other mechanically knowledgeable persons:

When I did Level 1, our classroom seminarist (Andy Ibbot) argued that we should try to keep the suspension in the mid-third stroke.

Being an engineer, I asked him why? - Andy argued that the suspension was more compliant there there and I asked again why?, because as long as we don't hit the limits of the shock (so that the spring/dampers are still working) I cannot see a reason that the shock should be less compliant in the outer parts of the stroke, than the mid-stroke.

I could see he struggled to find an explanation that would satisfy the engineer in me after the second why, so for the sake of the overall training I let it pass. I think understand what we are trying to achieve by being in the mid-stroke, but I didn't find the explanation to be well founded.

So, can anyone explain why the suspension should work better in the mid-third stroke than the outer part of the stroke (still assuming that we don't hit mechanical stops like top/bottoming out)?

Thanks,

Kai

I don't know what Code have in mind, but there are situations when at least some systems are more compliant/working better near mid-stroke than near the end of stroke:

1: Progressive fork springs get stiffer as they compress, meaning it takes more and more effort to move the suspension as it compresses

2: Most street bikes have progressive rate rear suspensions that again makes them pretty firm near the end of its suspension travel

3: The closer you are to either end of travel, the greater the risk of topping out or bottoming out, situations where the suspension stop working alltogether

Of course, a progressive system will be most compliant at the beginning of its stroke, but then there is the risk of topping out, as mentioned. It can also be too soft for the load, increasing the chance of instability.

Hi Kai,