Tire Construction And Race Vs Street Tires

I'm building another set of wheels for my Speed Triple to use on track days. They'll have BT002's on Marvic rims. The issue of heat cycles and race tires vs street tires is confusing to me. I plan to use warmers with the BT002's just because that's what I've been told. What exactly is the deal? Race tires are more susceptible to degradation from heat cycling because a) the rubber compound has more plastisizer so they get softer but the additive gets consumed during heat cycles causing the tires to get hard? B) the carcass is stressed during heat cycles and is prone to failure? c) warm tires are sticky right off the bat? Just curious and I can't find a good explanation.

You seem to have more knowledge of tire construction than I do. My knowledge of polymer science is limited. I am not a chemical engineer. The degradation vs heat cycle issue was explained to me in terms of oil being "cooked" out of the rubber compound during a heat cycle. Cold, hot, cold. Of course, that guy was just a tire co rep. And that was 15+ yrs ago. Exactly why race tires are "more susceptible to degradation"...softer rubber wears out faster? Your explanation works for me. For me, it's a case of "How does that work? It works just fine." :P

As for the carcass being prone to failure due to heat cycling, again, I don't know. The last "carcass failure" I recall was Dave Shlosser on a front straight somewhere and that was a very long time ago. (I think that one made the 'agony of defeat' reel at wide world of sports.) And it could have been a flat tire due to debris for all I know. In twenty years of attending racetracks, I don't believe I have ever witnessed a motorcycle tire carcass failure.