Hi From Socal, And A Question

Hi all from Southern CA! I live in Orange County, and have caught the bug to start track riding. I've heard great things about your school and have read a fair amount of Keith's writings. So here I am. I just really want to learn to corner better, get more out of the bike and ride a little faster in a safe and confidence-inspiring setting. The canyon roads are just so dangerous that I always have to keep a good safety margin and can't learn how to put real confidence in the bike and its cornering abilities, I just value life too much to push it on the street. And track riding looks like a blast. :D

I've already gotten some good info from reading these forums and your website, and just ordered a few books.

I've looked around for posts about this, but haven't found anything, so here's my question. I've been riding for about 5 years now, 3 of them on sportbikes. I have been really wanting to get into some track riding for a while now and would like to do it with an organization that includes some instruction. I am sure your Level I class would go way beyond what that would offer, but should I have at least one track day under my belt before taking the course? I ride the local canyons 3-4 times per month but have never ridden on the track.

THanks and looking forward to getting into a Level I soon! (a few friends want to do it too :)

I suggest taking the school before doing a track day if you can wait.

That way you will be better prepared (skills and experience) and confident for the track day. You will know how to make better use of your time there and you will get more out of the money you spend on it.

PS - Cool bike!

T.O.C.;

I agree with Racer; take the school first. My first track day was Level I with CSS at Watkins Glen and their coaching and classroom training allowed me to acclimate to track riding in a way that even the best run track day could not.

Good Luck and let us know how it went.

Kevin

+1