Cold Pavement

spthomas

OK, there's problems with cold tires, but what about a cold track? Or more to the point, what temperature is a practical lower limit for a track day? I've had good traction and feel I can push it on warmer days but I have no experience in cooler temperatures so I'm hesitant. If it's 45F in the morning and 65F for a high, will that be OK?

OK, there's problems with cold tires, but what about a cold track? Or more to the point, what temperature is a practical lower limit for a track day? I've had good traction and feel I can push it on warmer days but I have no experience in cooler temperatures so I'm hesitant. If it's 45F in the morning and 65F for a high, will that be OK?

What you moaning at man, that would be almost an invitation for stripping of in the UK. Those are nearly tropical temperatures those temp. wink.gif

OK, joking aside, if you use tyre warmers, then you'd be ok, we have trackdays that we run good times around that lower temp, the upper temperature you'd absolutely no worries at all, and we often race over here at the ambient temp. Word of warning with the colder temps though. The tyres even out of warmers, still need a little respect, and I'd still give them sometime to really lean on them. If it's really, really cold, lower than 45, you should really consider the tarmac isn't as grippy much below this, and you should not expect quite the same grip as a sunny warm day. knee down is possible etc, but mindful of the available traction.

Bullet

I don't use tire warmers, and on a 2.75 mile track I'm doing two laps just to warm up. One very slow and one with little throttle while over at all. After that I get a little more into it, but am hesitant all the way through. It is what it is. You've got to adjust.