Howdy Yall

New around here. Turned 40 this year and live in Philadelphia. I've been riding for about 4-5 years now. My 1st bike was a '95 CBR F3 I picked up for $500. Good bike, great bike to get my first couple noob drops (twice in about 15 min) and first low side (lesson learned: front brakes are a nono on trolley tracks in the rain). Couple seasons of cleaning carbs and I picked up a '06 CBR F4i while I still had hair. Immaculate condition and barely ridden (2.5k miles when I got her in 2010). I can't describe the feeling of coming outside in 40 deg weather, pressing the starter AND HAVING HER START :)

Which bring me to this year. This year I went out and bought my dream bike: a leftover 2011 BMW s1000rr with 0 miles. And she's made it blatantly obvious that I can no longer put off getting some real lessons. Lowsiding her 3 months after buying her will do that. I took the MSF BRC in order to get my license. And I took the ERC last year on my F4i. But I've never been on a track. And Philly is kinda short on twisties :P

So here I am. A low side eating my confidence in turning and long overdue on the track anyways. I've always felt I didn't need to learn to go faster, not finding much enjoyment in raw speed anyways (yeah I know: why get a s1k then?). But I need to get better. So it's time to ask for help.

Regards,,

Damon :-)

Welcome to the forum Damon. It sounds like you are in the right mind frame, open to good coaching and some education on the technology of riding. CSS can do that for you. Are you planning on attending the school this year? If you have not read the Twist of the Wrist books I would recommend startiung with Twist II and get a copy of the Twist II DVD as well. Both are great primers for the school and excellent tools on their own as well.

And don't be afraid to jump in and participate in the forum. There is a wealth of knowledge already posted but the guys and girls love chatting with new members as well.

Ride safe,

Carey