Hi Forum! (on Mar 8, 2013, I re-named this thread, its mostly on hydration).

I wanted to introduce the new forum, let you know what will be up here and the purpose.

We quite regularly get questions on fitness for riding. Even more than that we get questions on hydration and electrolytes--students often don't know the reason they are tired, just dragging ass, run out of steam "the heat takes it out of me". I would say that is one of the key factors in students getting tired later in the day, and on hot days sometimes not even able to finish the whole school day--that makes me very unhappy as a coach, I can't do my job!

I contacted a good friend of mine, Dr. Stephen Price. I've known him for about 30 years, and for the last few years have been using his new line of vitamins and hydration products (with superb results). I've managed to trick him into coming up here and see if we can get some good data on these subjects, as they relate to riding, and the specific problems riders encounter. Talking to him recenlty, he'd helped a triathlete knock 30 minutes off his best time (that guy was pretty pleased I imagine).

Today is the tease, let you know it's really coming. Also give you a chance to get your questions ready. He's scheduled to begin next week. I hope to get some good reference data up here and the key topics we can pin.

As always like your guys feedback on this, don't be bashful.

Best,

Cobie

Thanks Rainman!

Talked to Dr Price's assistant, a few details to iron out but still aiming to go live this coming week.

CF

I have arrived!

This is my first forum and I am excited but there will be a learning curve so bear with me.

Let's start off talking about hydration as Cobie mentioned above.

Hydration is basically how much water can be held in and between the cells in your body. The things that hold the water there are called electrolytes. There are five main electrolytes. Salt, which is sodium and chloride, is the most important.