Most Common Mistake You See In Other Riders?

warregl

The article Keith posted yesterday got me thinking about this again last night. What do most inexperienced riders do to exceed the capabilities of these technological wonders we ride?

Last year I started riding with a new track day organization. They tend to be a friendly lot so I found myself meeting all sorts of new people and (as you would expect) talking riding experiences. One thing I noticed in those early conversations and in observation on that (and subsequent) track days, was the number of accidents in the beginner/novice group (most, thankfully, were simple lowsides).

Now I’m sure this is not surprising (it is called the novice group for a reason) but what was interesting to me was how many of these were riders ran a very modest pace and how many of them had no idea why they went down. Or worse the wrong idea (“my corner speed was too high for the tires” – I was on track with this rider and his pace was not his issue). So what specifically were these riders doing to override all of that modern technology (not to mention some of the physics) that was working to keep them upright?

I started spending time between sessions watching (and listening) to some of these riders specifically (and later to others) and one of the biggest things I noticed was improper use of the throttle. Specifically violation of throttle control rule number 1:

“Once the throttle is cracked on, it is rolled on evenly, smoothly, and consistently throughout the remainder of the turn.”

So what seems to be the most common mistake (or mistakes) you notice in other riders? Do you find yourself casting a more discerning eye on other riders after exposure to CSS or do you just see them as passing drills? :P