Hanging Off Muscle Fatigue

I am a noob and still learning proper body position - have dragged my footpeg but not the knee. Lock my outside leg to the tank feels right, but my legs get tired real quick. I have been a gym rat for many years and have strong quad muscles, yet it still happens. Whats funny is that leg muscles more on the inside seem to get tired and quads get little workout. I believe I am doing something wrong - any advice what could it be?

Peter

Supporting yourself on the tank would involve your adductor muscles more than your quadriceps, so soreness on the inside of your thigh is in the right place, but you may be too tense. It shouldn't be that hard. Do you have tank grips on your bike? That could make it easier to lock in and relax.

Supporting yourself on the tank would involve your adductor muscles more than your quadriceps, so soreness on the inside of your thigh is in the right place, but you may be too tense. It shouldn't be that hard. Do you have tank grips on your bike? That could make it easier to lock in and relax.

Yes, I got Stomp grips. Its the inside leg that bears the brunt - I wonder if I'm putting too much weight on the inside? Too tense might be right as well. Prolly should include some adductor muscle exercise in my regimen :-|

Thanks!

Peter

Hmmm my first thought is maybe your trying to hard. Relax and let the bike do the hard work of holding you up. What I mean is, every rider on a bike has a sweet spot in the saddle where there is a balance of holding on (with legs), the bike supporting the majority of the weight of the rider and the work the rider must do to move the weight around during cornering. It's hard to describe but you will know when you find that sweet spot because holding on will be easier, the balls of your feet will not hurt after a long day of riding and your time in the saddle will get longer with less effort. ie you will become more efficient at it. Maybe your hanging off to far.