Critique My Riding

Hi guys, I did my last track day a few months ago and managed my best lap time of 3:18 at BIC(buddh international circuit) in india. Can you please check out my lap video and see where I'm going wrong, I'm targeting sub 3:00 times. I ride a ninja 250r with a gsxr shock spring to my weight and Michelin street radials.

Best lap

Great video. Love the overlay and the track looks like a LOT of fun.

I'm not an expert (and I'm also not familiar with the specific techniques to riding a 250) but I observed the following.

1. Lots of mid turn steering corrections.

2. Low corner entry speeds due to braking too hard before the corner.

I think the problems that you are having with the steering corrections and the low corner entry speeds are mostly visual related. Looking further into the corner helps with this. Having a defined turn point helps a lot too with making one steering input. Keep in mind that after the turn point the bike continues to decelerate until you get on the gas.

If I had to suggest drills to work on this is what I would suggest.

1. Reference Points

2. Two step

3. Three step

4. Quick Turn

It's not all bad news though. I did observe some pretty decent throttle roll on in a several of the turns. With a little work on some visuals you will be absolutely amazed at how much easier things become. In fact that's some of the same stuff I was working on in Level 4 with CSS at Barber Motorsports park.

One other thing. How accurate is the braking indicator on the video? Take a look at 2:22 on the video when you were going wide in the corner? Was that an error with the braking indicator or were you really braking?

It definitely looks like you can quickturn the bike, which is great and very important for carrying the high entry speeds required to get a quick laptime on a Ninja 250!

Some questions for you:

How would you rate your accuracy to the apex, are you able to consistently get the bike to the apex you want in every corner?