Pivot Steering *unlocked* (long)

Ok, so I'm more of a TIT guy. :P (Think It Thru silly!) T&E is too expensive for me.

My realization on practicing "pivot steering" finally clicked today! After a post from Keith when he said the pressure of the outside leg and inside arm coincide and tense/relax at the same time.

Before I share this excellant piece of knowledge with the awesome group of people here, I would like to thank Keith Code and staff for breaking everything down to a science and making it easier to understand.

If you like this example of "pivot steering" which I think everyone who rides will! Please remember the waRRior from Hawaii.

Here's MY explanation of "Power Steering" (i'm a personal trainer btw - teaching by demonstration is my thing)

-hold push-up position

This simulates just the basic contact points on the bike(pegs and bars).

Lift one hand off the ground (strong man/woman!)

You start to feel your stable points - opposite leg of hand that's still on the ground - easy yeah?

Now comes the magical moment...

With the hand that's off the ground, TRY lift something with considerable weight off the ground.

What happens to one of your feet while lifting? "Ah hah!" ;)

Not just the push is represented in counter-steering, but the pull as well!

Pivot, the ultimate push and/or pull!

Thank you guys so much for your time and I hope this benefits you in some way. All the information from here has helped me become a better rider. THANKS!

redwaRR ;)

Since you brought up push/pull - do most of you push with one arm, or pull with the other - or both at once to initiate a turn?

Gonna do an instructor post...

When you handle anything? Driving a car, holding a baby, lighting a cigarette - what's the more efficient way of doing it?

The reason being is you "HAVE" to be able to push/pull with both arms and be "AWARE" of it ALONG with the footing you have on the bike.

Today I came up with another experiment...

*at the store*

*took a shopping cart*