Rules Of The Road

Hi there. Long time fan of the Twist books and more recently avid watcher of the DVD and now first time poster. I have been riding for about 20 years but only recently bought my first sports bike and although I understand the theory cannot for the life of me find a position that makes me feel in control of the bike once I get to the twisties. I can keep the weight off my wrists by gripping the tank with my knees but end up feeling rigid and inflexible. I can lean forward to lower my elbows for better steering input but still feel disjointed. Consequently I seem to spend more time trying to find a position that feels right than concentrating on the ride which then brings on a whole raft of other problems mostly linked to SR's. I have only done about 500 miles on the new bike but I am not convinced that more time in the saddle is the answer. I guess what I am looking for is the approach or order of logic to finding a position that works for me and the bike. At the moment I feel like the bike and I are working against each other! The bike by the way is not particularly radical, it's a Honda Firestorm (Superhawk in the US) and I would say the riding position is semi-sporty. Any advice is great fully received.

IMHO i test ride and rent every bike I'm interested in ...

The bike's rider position means alot to me and MOST Honda's (cept cb /nc series) dont really fit well on me because of my longer legs (I favor Kawasaki's) ...

You either modify it or sell it imho...

Thanks for the response. I actually did a lengthy test ride on this bike and under most conditions it's fine, I am average build, just under 6 feet so ergos aren't an issue either. It's my first bike with clip ons though and what I need is tips on how to get a good compromise between comfort and control.

Are you comfortable on the bike when not in the twisties?

If not then what would you change?