Steering pressure

lebedo

Hi there,

As said before, I'm a riding instructor. One thing confuses me when I teach countersteering. Students have to ride a slalom in third gear, 25 mph, constant speed, and countersteer around some plots. When they add pressure on the inside bar, the bike steers, that's ok. But when they release the pressure, the bike stands up. Is it related to the body position, the constant speed, some kind of increase in the speed? Any thought on this? Has someone already experienced this? 

Also, do you think that countersteering at slow speed can be done? 

Thanks and have a good day.

Hi Keith,

I'm sorry for the delay to your question. I am not working for now but will in December if the lockdown is over in France, in a driving/riding school named "auto ecole Plan Benjamin" in Aubenas, a small town in Ardeche. I'm an instructor since 1994. The reasons I'm asking for that is not to steal your work, it's just that everything you say and do, everything you teach, is right. When I passed my riding license, nobody explained me how to countersteer, how to brake, how to lock my body,etc. When I look at the way we teach our students how to ride, I realize that most of us, instructors, teach it the wrong way. And sometimes we don't know how to help students. I'm asking because I want to teach the good techniques to my students. You can have a look at "plateau moto 2020", "Trajectoire de sécurité", or AFDM and you'll have an idea of how it's done here. So, if you don't want to answer, I will understand, but let me tell you that you are doing a great job.

Thanks and have a good day.

Lebedo;

I wasn't worried about you stealing my stuff, everything in the books and videos is for riders to improve themselves, if you see better ways to instruct from the books and videos and you see it helping your students, I'm happy about that.